IPL 2019: Ravichandran Ashwin, Chris Gayle Will Play Key Roles in Kings XI Punjab’s hopes

The Kings XI Punjab started IPL 2018 brilliantly and were on course for a top four finish, but they stumbled in the second part of the league, losing five matches in a row. They eventually finished seventh in the competition.

The Punjab team have retained their core players – KL Rahul, Chris Gayle, Ravichandran Ashwin and David Miller. However, some new inclusions to the side such as Nicholas Pooran and Moises Henriques will strengthen their middle order.

They have acquired an exciting talent in Sam Curran, who can change a course of the match with bat and ball. It will be interesting to see how leg-spinner Varun Chakravarthy performs, since he was bought for a whopping Rs 8.4 crore.

The Kings XI Punjab have never won the IPL and have reached the final only once. The management will be hoping that their big guns – Gayle and Ashwin come to the fore and put up consistent performances throughout the season.

If the Kings XI Punjab are concerned about KL Rahul’s recent form, then they could give Mayank Agarwal a go at the top of the order. Agarwal has been scoring consistently in domestic cricket in the last two years and also performed in the Test series in Australia.

It was surprising to see Punjab pick up Sarfaraz Khan in the auction, since he last played a first-class match in 2016. If Sarfaraz is keen on resurrecting his chances of making it to the Indian team, then this season would be a huge opportunity for him.

Full Squad of Kings XI Punjab


  • KL Rahul,
  • Chris Gayle,
  • Andrew Tye,
  • Mayank Agarwal,
  • Ankit Rajpoot,
  • Mujeeb Ur Rahman,
  • Karun Nair,
  • David Miller
  • Ravichandran Ashwin

Bought: Moises Henriques (Rs 1 cr), Nicholas Pooran (Rs 4.2 cr), Varun Chakaravarthy (Rs 8.4 cr), Sam Curran (Rs 7.2 cr), Mohammad Shami (Rs 4.2 cr), Sarfaraz Khan (Rs 25 lakh), Hardus Viljoen (Rs 75 lakh), Arshdeep Singh (Rs 20 lakh), Darshan Nalkande (Rs 30 lakh), Prabhsimran Singh (Rs 4.8 cr), Agnivesh Ayachi (Rs 20 lakh), Harpreet Brar (Rs 20 lakh), Murugan Ashwin (Rs 20 lakh).

Check : IPL 2019 team & Players list

Please follow and like us:
Updated: March 2, 2019 — 1:55 pm

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *